Professor Rosemary O'LEARY

Honorary Professor: Rosemary O'Leary was appointed the Edwin O. Stene Distinguished Professor of Public Administration at the University of Kansas in 2013, following a 24 year career at the Maxwell School of Syracuse University (Phanstiel Distinguished Chair in Strategic Management and Leadership) and the School of Public and Environmental Affairs at Indiana University-Bloomington (Professor). O'Leary is the author or editor of twelve books and more than 125 articles and book chapters on public management. She was the creator and coordinator of the Minnowbrook III conferences (2008) which assessed the future of public administration around the world.   She has won thirteen national research awards and ten teaching awards. 

O’Leary is the 2017 recipient of the Routledge Award for “outstanding contribution to public management research”) given by the International Research Society for Public Management (IRSPM).  She was the 2016 recipient of the John Gaus Award (for a “lifetime of exemplary scholarship in the joint tradition of political science and public administration”) given by the American Political Science Association and the 2014 recipient of the Dwight Waldo Award (for “distinguished contributions to the professional literature of public administration and in recognition of a distinguished career as author, educator, and public administrator”), given by the American Society for Public Administration.  She is the only person to win three Network of Schools of Public Policy, Affairs, and Administration awards for Best Dissertation (1989), Excellence in Teaching (1996) and Distinguished Research (2004).

An elected member of the National Academy of Public Administration, O’Leary was a senior Fulbright scholar in Malaysia (1998-99) and in the Philippines (2005-06). In 2014 she was an Ian Axford Public Policy Scholar in New Zealand. From 2003 to 2005 O’Leary was a member of the NASA’s Return to Flight Task Group assembled in response to the Columbia space shuttle accident where she was awarded the NASA Public Service Medal for her efforts.  

O’Leary is President-Elect of the Public Management Research Association, taking office in June 2017.